Ekk Deewana Tha is the Hindi translation of the movie. A Crazy Guy is the music album created by A. R. Rahman for the 2012 Indian romantic drama movie of the same name. It remains directed and written by Gautham Vasudev Menon. The film features Prateik Babbar and Amy Jackson in her Bollywood debut and Manu Rishi in the lead roles. This film is a re-creation of Gautham Menon’s Tamil film, Vinnaithaandi Varuvaayaa, or the Telugu film, Ye Maaya Chesave. The soundtrack album was released on the Lawns of Taj Khema, the eastern gate of The Taj Mahal, Agra, by the music maestro A. R. Rahman on 21 December 2011.


Ekk Deewana Tha (1)
A.R. Rahman has taken the same tunes from Vinnaithaandi Varuvaayaa and Ye Maaya Chesave. The music album consists of lyrics written by Javed Akhtar, teaming up with Gautham Menon for the first time. Javed Akhtar replaced Thamarai from Vinnaithaandi Varuvaayaa and Anantha Sriram from Ye Maaya Chesave. Javed Akhtar had to remain in Chennai to supervise the script and write the lyrics for the film. A source close to the development said, “Javed Saab, besides Gautham, hit it off excellently. The lyricist’s inputs will remain considered as Gautham is specific that his film should not come across as a usual South Indian remake.” Clinton Cerejo sings Phoolon Jaisi instead of Omana Penne.


The team, including A. R. Rahman and Javed Akhtar, remained prepared to perform live at Mehtab Bagh, which has an amazing backdrop in the Taj Mahal. However, the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) afterward refused consent to the crew owing to the damages sustained, whereas the shooting for Mere Brother Ki Dulhan occurred at Mehtab Bagh. Then, the music album remains released on the Lawns of Taj Khema, the eastern gate of the Taj Mahal, which possesses an excellent sight of the Taj Mahal, on 21 December 2011. The audio CD hit stores nationwide on 6 January 2012 under the Sony Music label.

List of the Songs

  1. “Kya Hai Mohabbat”
  2. “Dost Hai (Girl I Loved You)”
  3. “Hosanna”
  4. “Sharminda Hoon”
  5. “Phoolon Jaisi Ladki”
  6. “Aromale (My Beloved)”
  7. “Sun Lo Zara”
  8. “Zohra Jabeen”
  9. “Broken Promises” (Instrumental)
  10. “Moments In Kerala” (Instrumental)
  11. “Jessie’s Land” (Instrumental)
  12. “Jessie’s Driving Me Crazy” (Bit Song)

Critics Review

The album received positive reviews from critics. Glamsham specified, “Ekk Deewana Tha is one of the best A. R Rahman’s works that delivers “deewangi” of music in all probable expressions conveyed through this eternal love saga” and evaluated 4 out of 5. The lyrics did face some criticism, though, with Music Aloud stating – “A soundtrack that will take much getting used to for people who are crazy about Vinnai Thaandi Varuvaaya, due mainly to Javed Akhtar.” Musicperk.com valued the music album 8/10, quoting, “If you are a first-time listener, you will LOVE this! You should take the instrumentals and the first song alone for those already in love with VTV and YMC songs.”
Bollywood Hungama’s Joginder Tuteja rated the album 3.5 out of 5, saying, “Ekk Deewana Tha is an excellent album and a wholesome musical experience. The rest is fantastic except for ‘Kya Hai Mohabbat’ (which ironically arrives at the beginning of the album). It is a must-hear for those who swear by Rahman’s score and those whose work of this may not necessarily bowl over.”
Atta Khan of Planet Bollywood has regarded the album 7/10 and expressed, “Vinnaithandi Varuvaayaa was an award-winning music that had fans thrilled in Southern India! And after listening to Ek Deewana Tha, you can praise why the original Tamil version was such a huge hit – songs like “Aromale,” “Hosanna,” and “Sharminda Hoon” sound  energizing even for the romantic genre!”